NIRVANA Story of Simon Simopath ORIG UK MONO LP Pink Island POP PSYCH Eye ball

This item have been sold for $283.25

« Back to Main Page

Auction Details:
Code ID
Ebay Item #
Sold Price
Auction End date
10 Sep 2016
Seller Location
Amsterdam, Noord Holland

Item Description

NIRVANA Story of Simon Simopath original UK MONO LP
Elusive gem alert! This is the original UK MONO pressing of the debut album of the English group called Nirvana. It comes in an extremely flimsy and fragile laminated gatefold cover. 

The sleeve is in EX condition and the record is in NM condition. Has stamps on the label (see picture).

Check my other items for their second LP, All of Us.


The Story Of Simon Simopath is the debut album by British psychedelic band Nirvana, released by Island Records in 1967. The lyrics trace the story from life to death of the titular hero via a series of short songs. The story deals with a boy named Simon Simopath who dreams of having wings. He is unpopular at school, and after reaching adulthood (in 1999) goes to work in an office in front of a computer. He suffers a nervous breakdown and is unable to find help in a mental institution, but gets aboard a rocket and meets a centaur who will be his friend and a tiny goddess named Magdalena, who works at Pentecost Hotel. Simon and Magdalena fall in love and get married, followed by a jazzy party.

"Pentecost Hotel" was released as a single with the non-album b-side, "Feelin' Shattered". "Wings of Love" was the next single, also with a non-album b-side, "Requiem to John Coltrane". "Girl in the Park", from the second album, All of Us, featured the b-side, "C Side In Ocho Rios", which is an instrumental version of "In the Courtyard of the Stars".
    All songs written by Patrick Campbell-Lyons and Alex Spyropolous
    "Wings of Love" – 3:20
    "Lonely Boy" – 2:31
    "We Can Help You" – 1:57
    "Satellite Jockey" – 2:35
    "In the Courtyard of the Stars" – 2:36
    "You Are Just the One" – 2:07
    "Pentecost Hotel" – 3:06
    "I Never Found a Love Like This" – 2:50
    "Take This Hand" – 2:17
    "1999" – 2:09

All songs composed by Patrick Campbell-Lyons and Alex Spyropoulos
    Patrick Campbell-Lyons – guitar and vocals
    Ray Singer – Guitar
    Alex Spyropoulos – piano, keyboards and vocals
    Michael Coe - french horn and viola
    Brian Henderson - bass
    Peter Kester – drums
    David Preston – drums
    Patrick Shanahan – drums
    Sylvia A. Schuster – cello

Production notes
    Chris Blackwell – executive producer
    Brian Humphries – engineer
    Syd Dale – conductor

NOTE! Postage indicated in the auction is not the actual postage as ebay doesn't allow a higher postage then 4 GBP in this category. Postage for this item is 8 GBP to most countries within Europe and 16 GBP for the rest of the world. This is up to 2kg, so you can add up to 6 more LP's for the same postage. Postage for 7 LP´s is the same as for 1 LP, so buy more to save on postage!

Mail me if you have any questions. Check my other auctions for many rare similar items! Be sure to add me to your favourites list!

Postage for 1 LP is the same as for 7 LP's (<2kg), so please order more LP's to save on shipping!
1-7 LP's priority mail:

EUR3: 10 GBP
Rest of the world: 16 GBP

Denmark, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Austria, Spain, UK, Sweden

Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Czech Republic

Greece, Croatia, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland + other European countries

Related Items