David Bowie Who Can I Be Now 1974 1976 New 13 Vinyl Lp Box Set Diamond Dogs

This item have been sold for $ 237.87

« Back to Previous Page

Auction Details:
Code ID
Ebay Item #
Sold Price
Auction End date
09 Nov 2016
Seller Location
Share this page with your friends:

Item Description


The follow up to the awarding winning and critically acclaimed DAVID BOWIE FIVE YEARS 1969 1973 this thirteen LP box features all of the material officially released by Bowie during the so-called American phase of his career from 1974 to 1976.

The box set, which is named after a track recorded in 1974 but not officially released until the 1990 s, includes DIAMOND DOGS , DAVID LIVE in original and 2005 mixes , YOUNG AMERICANS and STATION TO STATION in original and 2010 mixes as well as THE GOUSTER , LIVE NASSAU COLISEUM 76 and a new compilation entitled RE:CALL 2 which is a collection of single versions and non-album b-sides.

All of the formats include tracks that have never before appeared on LP as well as new remasters.

Exclusive to the box set is THE GOUSTER previously unreleased as a complete album it was recorded at Sigma Sound, Philadelphia in 1974 and produced by Tony Visconti. The album was mixed and mastered before David decamped to New York to work with John Lennon and Harry Maslin on what became the YOUNG AMERICANS album. THE GOUSTER contains three previously unreleased mixes of Right , Can You Hear Me and Somebody Up There Likes Me .

For the 2016 release, Tony Visconti has overseen the mastering from the original tapes and photos taken by Eric Stephen Jacobs have been put together for the sleeve based around one of David s original concepts for the album.

Also exclusive to the box set will be the remastered DAVID LIVE original mix , the 2010 Harry Maslin mix of STATION TO STATION previously only available on an audio only DVD in 5.1 and stereo as part of the STATION TO STATION Deluxe box set in 2010 and RE:CALL 2 .

RE:CALL 2 features the original single mix of Rebel Rebel , which has only featured on a 40th anniversary picture disc in 2014 since its original release on single in 1974, and a previously unreleased on CD Australian single edit of Diamond Dogs , the only place in the world that this edit was issued. Also appearing on CD for the first time is the single edit of the live version of Rock n Roll With Me , which was issued to radio stations in the U.S. to help promote the DAVID LIVE album.

RE:CALL 2 features newly originated artwork with 1975 in-studio images from the STATION TO STATION recording sessions by David s friend and backing vocalist Geoff MacCormack aka Warren Peace.

The alternative cover for the 2010 mix of STATION TO STATION by Harry Maslin, features the originally intended colour sleeve for the album that never got further than a few colour proofs and was replaced by the more familiar black and white image.

The box set s accompanying 84 page book will feature rarely seen and previously unpublished photos by photographers including Eric Stephen Jacobs, Tom Kelley, Geoff MacCormack, Terry O Neill, Steve Schapiro, and many others as well as historical press reviews and technical notes about the albums from producers Tony Visconti and Harry Maslin.

Product Breakdown:

84 Page hardback book

Diamond Dogs remastered 1 LP

David Live original mix remastered 2 LP

David Live 2005 mix remastered 3 LP

The Gouster previously unreleased as an album 1 LP

Young Americans remastered 1 LP

Station To Station remastered 1 LP

Station To Station Harry Maslin 2010 mix 1 LP

Live Nassau Coliseum 76 2 LP

Re:Call 2 Single versions and non album B-sides remastered 1 LP

Exclusive to Who Can I Be Now? 1974 1976

Track Listing


Released on RCA APLI 0576 U.K. / CPLI 0576 U.S. on 31st May, 1974.

Side 1.

1. Future Legend

2. Diamond Dogs

3. Sweet Thing

4. Candidate

5. Sweet Thing Reprise

6. Rebel Rebel

Side 2.

1. Rock n Roll With Me

2. We Are The Dead

3. 1984

4. Big Brother

5. Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family


Released on RCA APL2 0771 U.K. / CPL2-0771 U.S. on 29thOctober, 1974.

David Live was culled from performances on the 8th, 9th, 10th11th and 12th of July, 1974 at the Tower Theater, Philadelphia.

Side 1

1. 1984

2. Rebel Rebel

3. Moonage Daydream

4. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing reprise

Side 2

1. Changes

2. Suffragette City

3. Aladdin Sane

4. All The Young Dudes

5. Cracked Actor

Side 3

1. Rock n Roll With Me

2. Watch That Man

3. Knock On Wood

4. Diamond Dogs

Side 4

1. Big Brother

2. The Width Of A Circle

3. The Jean Genie

4. Rock n Roll Suicide


David Live was culled from performances on the 8th, 9th, 10th11th and 12th of July, 1974 at the Tower Theater, Philadelphia.

Released on EMI 874 3042 on CD and also in 5.1 on the DVD-Audio EMI 874 3049 on 14th November, 2005.

Side 1

1. 1984

2. Rebel Rebel

3. Moonage Daydream

4. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing reprise

Ended Auctions Related Items
Related Items Price Guide
Search for other titles in Music Price Guide database of David Bowie